Some schoolchildren dislike learning maths. What might be the reasons for this? What might be the best ways to make learning maths enjoyable for schoolchildren?

It is said that some pupils at school are not passionate about learning maths. However, there are several factors that causes children to dislike maths, such as abstract nature of it and study pressure, and this can be addressed by few ways, for example, by using real-world applications and game involvement.

Focusing on the reasons, the major one is the complexity and abstraction of the subject. Many mathematical subjects, such as algebra and geometry, are really abstract and difficult to visualize. This makes students at school feel impossible as well as boring and the tasks or the theories seem to complicated to grasp them. Moreover, anxiety and pressure also make maths unnecessary and uninteresting for schoolchildren. Some develop anxiety during lessons due to strict grading, timed tests, and high expectations. Although,some pupils can not achieve higher results because of complex concepts and the pressure,leading towards negative attitudes for the subject. Particularly, mid-term or final exams are filled with such circumstances.

Despite these concerns, it is possible to make maths engaging and intriguing for young children. As an instance, using real-life examples can help address this issue, as children are naturally keen on practical explanations through curious examples, such as purchasing something on the markets, counting ingredients in cooking or sports statistics, instead of simple theories given in the books. In addition, gamification is another effective solution for this problem. Using mobile appliences, apps, and games enhance children’s curiosity and engagement, and their technological knowledge simultenously. This way shows maths as a fun and engaging subject by learning it within enjoyment rather than pressure.

In conclusion, currently, some children at school dislike maths due to its abstract notions and pressure in conjunction with anxiety,I believe, this can be tackled through using real-life examples and involving interactive games.