Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that some school have decided to put limitations on the use of mobile phone inside their institution. In my opinion this is a positive development and it can help students to put more focus on class and participate in different school activities.

There are several positive outcomes of applying constraints on the use of mobile phone inside school. Firstly, providing less access to mobile phone will improve learning. This is because phones act as a tool of distraction for students. Whenever they have phones on their hand or even in their pocked, the sound of a notification compels them to check their phone. Constantly checking their phone takes their attention from the class as a result and, it reduces their attention time span. Moreover, constant staring at the phone can also have detrimental effects on their body, weaken their eye sights, for instance. This is why banning phones inside school is an idea way to put a stop on this matter.

Secondly, students’ physical health can also be improved by imposing restrictions. So, when students will have any device near them to waste their precious time on, they will start looking for alternatives, and if they then are given the opportunities to participate in different sports, such as Football, Racing, and Cricket, it brings benefits for students, for example, improving communication and team work skills, staying healthy, and increasing productivity as they will be exposed to different challenges. Thus, having constraints on phone will indeed help students for their own betterment.

In conclusion, putting a phone ban inside school for students is imposed considering about well-being of their students and I believe such action is a positive development.