Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, children have their phones from early ages. While these devices can be useful for safety and even play a role in learning, many schools choose to restrict their use on school’s campuses. In my view, this is a positive decision and can be beneficial in academic and social ways.

Restricting phone use in classroom can significantly improve learning and academic performance. This is simply because, without these gadgets, students would be far more interested in studying and have better relationships with teachers. When students have their phones in their bags or pockets they feel an irresistible urge to check constantly for texts or scroll through videos on social media. All the time sitting on phone use noticeably worsens concentration and leads to a decline in academic performance. And when children are constantly distracted by their phones, it brings conflicts with their teachers. Restrictions on student’s access to their phone during class refrain them from compulsive checking and help them concentrate.

On the other hand restricting student’s smartphones plays a role in social equality. Because some parents buy expensive phones for their children, but not all parents can afford such expensive devices, after which leads to a division between rich and poor. When children bring their latest phone models to school, there will be envy and jealousy from others, there may even be theft. These negative feelings, such as envy and jealousy, lead to thedestruction of relationships among children. To stop the division between rich and poor from childhood, I believe it is a good idea to restrict phones at school.

In conclusion, despite phones being a crucial part of our modern lives, I believe their use in schools should be limited. Without phones, students are able to learn better and have stronger friendships.