Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that some schools have decided to restrict the use of mobile phones within their institutions. In my opinion, this is a positive development, and it can help students focus more on their class and participate in different fun activities.

There are several positive outcomes of applying constraints on the use of mobile phones inside school. First, providing less access to mobile phones will improve learning. This is because phones serve as a distraction for students. Whenever they have phones on their hands or even in their pockets, the sound of a notification compels them to check their phone. Constantly checking their phones diverts their attention from the class, and as a result, it reduces their attention span. Furthermore, constantly staring at the phone can have negative effects on their body, such as weakening their eyesight. This is why banning phones inside schools is an ideal way to put an end to this problem.

Secondly, imposing restrictions can also improve students’ physical health. So, when students will have any device near them to waste their precious time on, they will start looking for alternatives, and when they are given the opportunities to participate in different sports, such as football, racing, and cricket, it brings benefits for students, for example, improving communication and teamwork skills, staying healthy, and increasing productivity as they will be exposed to different challenges. Thus, having constraints on the phone will indeed help students for their own betterment.

In conclusion, putting a phone ban inside schools for students is imposed considering the well-being of their students, and I believe such action is a positive development.