Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive or negative development?

Few schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. This regulation brings many positive developments to students, especially in improving their learning focus and increasing academic performance. .

Firstly, while using mobile phones may be resourceful for helping students finish their homework, the use of them can cause high dependence on gadgets. Considering this, some schools’ regulations prohibit the use of mobile gadgets in order to improve their students’ learning focus. This is because when reduced screen time is implemented, students’ time spent on using phones will decrease. This regulation results in lower exposure on mobile devices, meaning that more time will be invested on learning. If this habit is maintained, students will be easier to focus and gradually show positive learning habits. For example, students are asked to turn off their phones while they learn in the classroom. This rule affects students’ focus on learning and eventually develops a new positive behavior.

Secondly, restricting the use of gadgets is sometimes associated with increasing school performance. This is because students’ brains are used at their capacity while solving problems and answering in tests. Moreover, the more their brains are trained to think independently, the higher their achieved high score in school subjects. The reason may be that less reliance on mobile phones improves self confidence on answering tests. For example, students are asked by teachers to use their own knowledge to answer tests. This activity causes them to be away from their phones while at the same time improve their academic performance.

In conclusion, the restriction on mobile phone use is developing students’ positive outcomes, such as improving learning focus and increasing academic score. Having good concentration will help students to develop their focus into habits and eventually increase their performance in subjects.