Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Some animal species are almost extinct while others are gradually getting to that point. This essay will discuss some of the reasons behind animal extinction and how these problems can be addressed.

Hunting, especially in developing countries, has been a very big threat to animals that are coming close to being extinct. Most of these huntings are done mainly for food and some are done for the luxury demand of unusual animal part such as the skin of animals like lion and leopard. Hunters now feel compelled to hunt for the rarest animal because the more scarce the animal, the expensive the animal will be. This comes at the cost of the extinction of these animals. Another problem that threatens the existence of animals is human’s intrusion of their natural habitat. Because of industrialization, natural habitats of wildlife are being cleared to give way to these industries. When these animals are forced out of their natural abode, most of them are unable to survive in the new harsh environment. Consequently, extinction of these animal becomes inevitable.

Regarding solutions, it is important for hunting to be prohibited and the government of every country in the world should ensure full compliance to this prohibition. That way, animals that are at risk of extinction will be given the chance to recover. Government should invest into agriculture (especially animal farming) so that meat will be readily available for everyone further discouraging hunting. The second part of the problem can be addressed by maintaining the natural habitats of these animals at all cost. Because natural habitat is the best place for reproduction and survival, government should enact laws that will prevent the destruction of these natural habitats no matter the rate of industrialization. This effort will definitely give the animals a good chance of survival.

In conclusion, animal hunting and habitat destruction are the main forces driving extinction. Even though these problems are not easy to solve, the government should try and give these animals a chance by making hunting illegal and coming up with laws to preserve the natural home of these endangered species.