Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the animal kingdom, a variety of species thrive in different habitats, every animal experiences death at some point. However, the life cycle of animals have sped up in recent years, and caused many species to reach the brink of extinction. While there are myriads of reasons associated with the event, such as loss of habitat and climate change, solutions still exist that can ease the problem.

To start off, the general consensus is that habitat loss is the primary cause of mass extinction. As human population continues to grow, increasing masses of land are repurposed to build brand new apartments. Although mankind reaps benefits from the houses, most of the cleared land serves as a home for a multitude of organisms, with notable examples like wild boars and cows. These animals would have to move to a new area, where unknown predators may predate on them, reducing the population of wild species.

Furthermore, climate change plays a major role in the endangerment of different species. Normally, climate change will cause a small rise in global temperatures, which is a natural phenomenon. However, with human intervention, anthropogenic climate change occurs, and the increase of temperature per year skyrocketed. If an animal could not adapt to the new climates, they may face death. When a number of animals could not adapt, that leads to extinction of a species.

Even though such problems are demanding, there are still some viable solutions that can reduce the rate of extinction. One of which, is proper land use, where construction companies can opt to rebuild worn down houses and construct high rises there rather than on green areas. Another possible resolution would be for the government to take measures and reduce the carbon footprint of the country. Simple actions such as turning off lights after a set timeframe, or encourging use of public transport are some methods to implement.

In a nutshell, the increasingly worrying rate of animals dying out are mainly due to habitat loss and climate change, but the government plays a vital role that can help slow down this process.