Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In this day and age many species are facing extinction or approaching the state of being endangered. This is happening for several reasons, each of them requiring different solutions.

Firstly, the majority of wildlife is severely impacted by human activities, such as urban development and manufacturing, which lead to natural habitats being destroyed. As a consequence, animal species are forced to migrate to areas less suitable for their successful reproduction, thus making them go extinct. Another factor that has a detrimental effect on biodiversity is illegal hunt, as for poachers selling body parts of rare animals, such as fur, tusks and antlers, on black market is a lucrative business. Finally, the factor that arguably has the most devastating effect is the climate change. Not only does it render enormous territories not suitable for human living, it also wipes out whole ecosystems both on land and in water. The most recent example is coral reef, which is on the brink of extinction due to warming ocean waters.

There is a number of measures that can be put in place in order to rectify the situation. The problem of rapid urbanization can be tackled by establishing a more environmentally-conscious approach to city planning. Flora and fauna can be preserved in parks and sanctuaries, which can be built in the urban area and taken care of by trained professionals. As for animal black market, the punishment for poaching should be harsher, with perpetrators being sentenced to work with animals and help repair the damage. The most difficult problem to deal with is climate change and the rising global temperatures, since scientists believe the humanity has reached a point of no return. Still, the governments should unite in their effort to stop the process, if not reverse it. They should pass the legislation that holds fossil fuel companies accountable and forces them to reduce the amount of harmful emissions into the atmosphere. In the long term, fossil fuels should be replaced with the renewable energy sources.

Overall, the main reasons for the loss of biodiversity are man-made, thus the solution to the problem is to minimize the influence of human activities on the natural environment.