Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recently, some biologists have reported that a considerable amount of animal species are becoming increasingly difficult to encounter, as their populations have become ever more scarce. Some of those animals might even be facing the possibility of becoming completely wiped out from the face of the planet. Even though there are numerous causes for this issue, fortunately, there are also multiple solutions available.

Human activity can have a significant impact on the globe. Since the industrial revolution, the environment has suffered major changes due to the emission of green house gases and various other forms of pollution, such as plastic and chemical contaminants. This means that animals that have co-existed with us for hundreds of thousands of years had to adapt quickly to these changes or suffer the risk of being gradually eliminated through natural selection. To some extent, species do have a way to adapt, either behaviorally of genetically, however, when changes occur excessively fast they may not have enough time to undergo that process.

Considering that industrial pollution is not beyond our control, there are several measures that can be implemented to turn this tide in a positive manner. In order to reduce factories emission of gases which are harmful to the environment, governments could implement tax penalties for those that that emit harmful gases beyond a reasonable amount. This would in turn reduce the rate at which the climate changes because of human activity, giving enough time for global fauna to adapt. Similarly, tax breaks could be offered to industries that have low emission rates. This simple but effective measure could easily be adjusted to also include other types of pollution and be implemented around the world, consequently reducing the negative impact that humans have on nature and reducing the number of species going extinct.

In conclusion, humankind can be a huge component when it comes to the causes of animals extinction. However, with the right measures and regulations in place, this picture can be overturned.