Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern world, increasing living standards of the human race threatens the population of several endangered animal species. There are a number of reason for certain animals to approach the risk of extinction, however, if we examine the causes, we can revert this trend by adjusting our behaviour and being more considerate to the surrounding nature.

Probably the most pressing issue is the destruction of their natural habitat casued by the agricultural and logistical expansion. Deforestation, huge areas with singular type of vegetation, and removal of natual features in favor of roads and harbors changes their environment. The second problem comes with the low reproduction rate of certain species, and we are simply killing them faster than they can replenish their numbers. One such an example are whales, which are being hunted in Japan for their meat, and are at the serious risk of going extinct.

The first problem can be tackled by much more cautious approach to issuing permits for developers, so they need to apply protective measures before they start the construction and make sure that they do not threaten the natural conditions of the species in the concerned area. For instance, installing paths over highways enables the animals to freely cross them, so they can reach both sides if facilities on one are not sufficient for their survival. To fight the overhunting, the governments need to strongly regulate the rates and conditions at which those creatures can be caught. By actively monitoring the volumes, we can take protective measures before the numbers become a serious issue.

To conclude, changing the world around us and taking everything for granted endangers it. However, by mindfully approaching the way we interact with it, we can make sure that we live in harmony with the fauna it houses.