Some stories that deeply move people are later found to be untrue. Do you think a touching story must be based on facts, or is it acceptable as long as it moves readers emotionally?

Some popular, touching stories are later found to contain factually incorrect aspects. In my opinion, such stories should ensure that they are strictly based on facts, as they may undermine recent efforts to prevent the spread of misinformation on the internet.

Arguably, it is true that many readers do not pay close attention to whether a story is completely factual or not. This is because they are purely seeking entertainment and relief from stresses stemming from work or school; in fact, on many social media platforms and video streaming services, “real” stories purported to have made a number of people feel emotional attract significant views, despite many of them being fictional to some extent. In essence, the authenticity of stories that relieve the stress of viewers needs no scrutiny regarding their facts.

However, one point to consider is that if many people prioritize entertainment and emotional venting over factual authenticity, it would slow down efforts to combat misinformation on the internet. In contemporary society, owing to the widespread use of social media, the hurdle to generate and disseminate inaccurate information has been significantly lowered. This was particularly notable during the COVID-19 pandemic, in which social media platforms were flooded with scientifically inaccurate information on how individuals can evade infection from the virus or how COVID vaccinations can cause long-term side effects. Should the narrative that facts are of less importance than the potential to entertain individuals become dominant, it could ultimately impede the process to rid the internet of factually inaccurate information.

In conclusion, while the majority of people may not consider factual authenticity to be relevant, I believe that stories should be based strictly on facts so as not to pose an impediment to efforts to promote safety on the internet.