Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

It is said that some students who finish their high school programme and prepare for university usually take a gap year to work or travel. This trend can be attributed to various factors both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, this phenomenon allows students to improve their communication as well as personalities. One major advantage to consider is that taking a gap year provides students the opportunity to experience different cultures.That is because when they explore different ways of living, they will see the world from different perspectives and expand their relationship. Besides that, if students spend a year working or travelling in a unique country, they can learn how to take care of themselves as an adult that helps them become more independent. Another point worth making is that students who decide to take a year to travel or do part-time or full-time jobs will often be better prepared to deal with difficult situations and challenges. For example, by travelling to Australia, my sister has known how to cope with pressure and manage her money.

On the other hand, taking a gap year between finishing school and going to university also has several potential drawbacks.Firstly, people who decide to take a year off to travel would have to spend a high amount of money, which might lead them to serious debt if they do not manage their budget well. Moreover, it is argued that this money should be better invested in their education because if they use the same money and time amounts, students will gain more vital knowledge for studying in university.Furthermore, students who spend a year travelling or working in a foreign country could suffer from various problems, which could lead to depression and anxiety. For example, when my foreign friend went to the UK, he was in trouble with the culture and language that made him have to adapt with these conditions and sometimes he had problems with his mind.

To conclude, taking a year off between finishing high school curriculum and starting university courses brings many benefits such as enhancing communication or skills. However, it also has some negative impacts on students because of budget and culture barriers.