Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

A number of students spending a year after leaving high school on applying for work and/or traveling has become a popular trend nowadays.

On the one hand, one of the main advantages of taking a gap year after graduating high school to find a job or visit some destinations is the opportunities to develop themself and discover the personal colors. This is because students can accumulate real experiences which are difficult to reach when studying in the traditional classes. These jobs allow them to learn and practice various crucial skills such as time-management, taking responsibility for their finances, and communicating tactfully which are very necessary for achieving their own success in the future. For example, a student spending a gap year working in a variety of environments where their rate of working is high such as restaurant, hotel, this not only stimulates student’s efforts and studiousness but also helps them know how to solve numerous different real situations, providing many benefits when returning school or becoming a employees. In addition, by traveling, students can also contact various cultures and different types of languages, allowing them to enhance their knowledge about the world and their own adaptability. Consequently, these real experiences help a student become a well-rounded individual, prepare a good spirit to cope with many difficult challenges in education and future life. However, besides the impressive advantages, they also pay attention to the drawbacks of “taking a gap year”.

On the other hand, the disadvantage of a gap year is the risk of losing study motivation and interest. After spending a year outside the constructed environment of study, most students will meet the difficulty in starting their own discipline and effort to focus on study leading to accomplishments. For instance, a student who takes a year to travel and visit a wide range of destinations around the world can feel affected and bored after a long-term of freedom and comfortability as they must take part in various classes and examinations but not having enough time to entertain themselves. As a result, spending a gap year traveling and applying for a job makes them lose their encouragement and passion for study.

In conclusion, in a gap year to find a job or travel after graduating the high academy brings them numerous merits such as developing themselves and having time to experience. But it also presents some challenges with studying. So students should consider these factors and their own circumstances before making a decision to take a gap year.