Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The question of whether it is good or bad for students to take a year off after high school is a challenging decision for many. Some have advocated in favor of putting a pause in academics after schooling to explore traveling and even to gain work experience. There are compelling positive and negative aspects to this perspective which can be unimaginably beneficial for some individuals but can be equally stressful for others.

A gap year is not well taken by the society, unfortunately. The idea of leaving education is derogatory to several parents; that is why the lack of emotional support can be the root cause for a kid to go through self-doubt and disbelief. Nevertheless, high-school graduates are teenagers who can easily fall under the trap of making money loop if introduced to the corporate world at this budding age. Therefore, may result in not finishing their education further.

The experience that they may gain on the other hand can be helpful for their growth if done for the right reasons. Moreover, the knowledge and abilities that come with traveling are enormous. A few discover their level of maturity to deal with unforeseen circumstances along the way. Additionally, in a world of challenging living circumstances and loads of academic pressure, this may be a ray of hope for the learners to take some time off to decide for themselves what they want to pursue further as a career.

In summary, drawing from both the perspectives and the aforementioned explanations, the benefits of pausing studies after schooling outweigh all its disadvantages. Hence, the idea of taking a year off to explore is a great way to channel thoughts and form a better future ahead without any regrets.