Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many students prefer to take a year off after graduating from school. Some of them go straight work to gain some skills about the future job, while others merely to get some rest after a long span at school. From my point of view, there are plethora of benefits that outweight possible drawbacks and all of them will be represented in the text below.

To begin with, it is obvious that spending 11-12 years in average at the same place, seeing the same people and dealing with the school issues may be very exhausting, thus, by taking one year off student can get some rest and commence study with a fresh head. As an example, scholars from Harvard University in the USA proved this theory by taking two groups of students. The first one consisted of pupils that took some rest between finishing school and going to universities, while the second one, of students that got into university at the same year as they finished school. The survey showed that students from the first group showed better results in their education process, and were more joyful in general. While students from the second group felt very drowsy and showed less interest in the university activities.

The second reason that supports the suggestion about taking a year off is preparation. By that, I mean, that while studying at school students may not have an adequate time to prepare for exams, projects and outdoor activities that many universities require. Thus, It is a great way to get useful information and enhance students CV. Therefore, many universities themselves provide such opportunity that is called a ” Gap Year”. Where students enabled with enough time to attend different courses or even visit their dream universities before starting studies there in order to try and to choose which one is more suitable for them.

In conclusion, it can be said that taking a gap year is a decent opportunity for many students to prepare for studies as mentally, as physically.