Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking a gap year after school and before university is becoming commonplace among students to travel or work. I do believe that there are more boons than downsides.

To start with detriments, first off all, deferring college or university enrollment can affect stability of academic progress. After postponing study for a year, not going to university, the person cannot progress as other peer students. This is because those who take a break from academic involvement need to work or learn some skills, and this, in turn, may lead to lack of enthusiasm towards studying hard. As a result, they are likely to fail to rise academically as others. Another detrimental effect can be that the gap year students may lose their quality time by just doing unnecessary things, like traveling and working on a volunteer basis. This would cause to delay other important aspects as well, such as finding a stable place to work or make a living and marriage. Therefore, when choosing the gap year, people should consider its disadvantages.

I, nevertheless, believe that taking some time before delving into university or college study could work out for the sake of many students. One benefit of it is that students are likely to avoid not only mental, but physical burnout. The pressures schools are creating are becoming huge, and thereafter, majority are feeling anxiety and burnout after taking school final exams and other tests. A year-off can seem like an opportunity for everyone to get relaxed and entertained, which is useful for many students in their later studies. Another advantage can be grown mindset. Not only would students improve their outlook, but they can enhance their chances for potential jobs by taking a year-off. During the time out of study enrollment, most people tend to do wide range of activities, ranging from community work to volunteering, and the experiences may help them in terms of dealing with university exams as well as difficult times in their future work. Thus, gap year experience could be invaluable for students.

In conclusion, although side-effects of gap years, like lack of progress in education and frittering away time are inevitable, in my opinion, benefits, such as preventing extra burnout and growth outlook can outweigh these drawbacks.