Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages?

A gap year is a year after high school when a student takes time to explore his or her interests, which usually entalis some type of travelling or working. While there are a few downsides of gap year, personally believe that the benefits of ‘gap year outstrip them.

On the one hand, there are many benefits of taking a year off after finishing school. Firstly, during the gap year students can explore their interests and discover new passions. It is hard to decide on a major right out of high school. A gap year gives students time to introspect and they may find something they have never considered studying before. Secondly, they can work during the gap year and save money to finance their college education. This may help ease some burden off their parents shoulders or reduce their college loans. It is also a great time to learn the importance of budgeting and saving.

Furthermore, a gap year is a great time to travel and explore the world. Students get to meet different people and experience different cultures. As a result their personality develops and they become more Independent. Finally, gap year is a great opportunity to expand learning through volunteer activities and practical work experience. These skills are very attractive to college admission committees and future employers.

On the other hand, there are a few downsides of gap year and students should consider them before taking the decision to take the year off. Firstly, a year is a long time and a student may lose the momentum of studying and find it hard to start again. Secondly, if the gap year is not planned thoughtfully and constructively a student may lose focus and just sit around doing nothing for a year.

To sum up, although there might be a few drawbacks to a gap year, a well-planned gap year is a great time to explore college majors, travel and get some practical work experience.