Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, taking a gap year after school is escalating day by day. While there are arguments to the contrary, in this essay I would contend that the merits of taking a break between school and university overpower its demerits. The benefits are twofold.

On the one hand, there exists a plethora of advantages. Nowadays, a lot of students do not rely on their parents and want to do something after leaving school to attain financial independence. When students leave school, many of them decide to build and develop themselves by learning new skills, acquiring knowledge, and gaining experience. This mindset brings golden opportunities for the future, since today’s competitive job markets need experts. Consequently, if pupils take a break before university life to gain awareness of society, it would be a great way to start their university journey.

In spite of numerous benefits, this approach also has some drawbacks. It is education that plays a key role in shaping individuals’ careers. Although a gap year is helpful for some learners, many of them are tempted to continue earning money instead of returning to academic life. To be involved in work and break academic life creates a detrimental impact on after education. In this case, some students may not be able to come back to their studies.

For example, one of my friends took a break to travel and pursue business purposes overseas; however, I never saw him after our school. Similarly, a few school leavers might become overly idle, turning the gap year into a period of laziness and procrastination.

In conclusion, given the benefits associated with this trend, I once again reaffirm my position that the advantages of a year gap not only provide financial freedom but does also give myriad opportunities for the future that outweigh disadvantages.