Some think that climate change reforms will negatively affect business. Others feel they are an opportunity for businesses. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People have different views as to whether climate change reforms place pressure on businesses or creating new opportunities for them. Both schools of thought could be true in their own right, but I agree with the former view.

One argument in favour of the view that climate change reforms put pressure on businesses is that they require investment in costly technologies, renewable energy sources, and environmentally friendly products. That is to say, when governments impose strict regulations on what type of technology, energy, and product to use, businesses may struggle with limited and expensive choices. For example, if the state implements ‘green taxes’ on airline companies or factories that emit harmful gases, it can significantly increase their operating costs. As a result, this contributes to discourage people from starting a business. If it were not for these strict rules, people would be more motivated to launch a company, that runs with low-cost resources. Given that these environmentally friendly technologies are often expensive, many entrepreneurs may find it difficult to start or maintain their businesses.

However, the opposite argument is that environmental regulations can create jobs and reduce unemployment rates in today’s competitive job market. That is, while governments make certain environmentally friendly practices mandatory, this can increase the demand for new industries and services. For instance, if the governments introduce laws to limit fuel-based vehicles, this could encourage the production of electric cars. Consequently, this may lead to the establishment of new businesses and create employment opportunities. Therefore, it is also important for society and the economy.

In conclusion, although implementing laws can be beneficial to some extent, this could prevent many entrepreneurs from starting a business due to high costs associated with environmentally friendly technologies.