Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, young people most like fast food but it has many problems that affect our health. An increasing number of people are developing health problems as a result of fast food so some people think that the governments should therefore impose a higher tax on this kind of food. In my opinion, I do not agree with this idea and in this essay, I will discuss my opinion.

On the one hand, I strongly believe that we should not restrict people’s personal freedom to eat what they want. Each person has the right to choose the food they consume, even if it is not good for their health. Furthermore, not only fast food is the cause of health problems, but there are also other factors that affect our health negatively such as smoking, drinking, and pollution problems. In addition, many students at university who do not have enough time to make meals at home will need to eat fast food to save time, but because they are still students and they will not have money for fast food with higher taxes, it is not convenient for their time and their money. Thus, it is certainly true that higher taxes are unfair to young people.

On the other hand, I also understand the point of view of those who say that they want to improve our health by limiting the figure of people who eat fast food. Fast food quality typically is not ensured, therefore it can be unclean and safe like meals we make by ourselves. For all these reasons, we can see that meals made at home are safer than fast food, so the government wants to limit the number of people who have health problems by eating fast food.

In conclusion, although the taxes imposed by the government might be good but we need to consider people’s personal freedom and financial unfairness to young people.