Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays eating habits will determine our health in the long run. The consumption of fast food and carbonated drinks has been increasing over the past few decades, which are considered unhealthy foods. There is a segment of society that believes the government should tax such foods to encourage people to eat healthier, and I fully endorse this idea.

In our busy lives, we do not get much time to go to a gym, or do exercise or running and on top of that we are eating a substandard meal. This all will contribute in making us sick more often. Some of us don’t have medical insurances or free Medicare, so a major portion of our income will be used to pay hefty hospital bills. By eating green and healthy stuff we mitigate the risk of getting any major issues pertaining to our health. And it will ameliorate our fitness.

In conclusion, taxes on unhealthy foods would not be an effective measure against their consumption. Instead, governments should invest more in healthy school lunches and making healthy products more widely available to attack the problem at its root source.