Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that people are more inclined toward fast food, where it is often argued that taxes should be imposed by the government to reduce the consumption of unhealthy food products. However, I completely disagree with this provided notion.

Apparently, imposing taxes on junk food holds a wide range of destructive outcomes. To begin with, people are already living under the significant burden of various forms of taxes, introducing such a new strategy would lead them to be the victim of several mental and physical health issues to earn their living in this highly inflated world. Secondly, low-income individuals, who are considerably dependent on fast food due to its inexpensiveness will suffer alot if the food prices soared up after high tax rates as they cannot afford a healthy diet all the times.

Thirdly, if the government raised the prices of fast food then small scaled and local businesses can be influenced largely due to the reduced customer counts in their stores which further could result in decreased job opportunities in the market for young talents who have mastered in such culinary skills for their startups. Lastly, a top priority should be given to nutritious edible items in terms of reducing their cost so that its accessibility and feasibility can be increased for the public to divert them to healthy food intake habits, therefore an addition to the government’s monetary responsibilities.

To conclude, I largely believe that, taxes cannot be considered as a permanent solution for such concerning dietary issue because it only creates more stressful situation for both the public and the government authorities.