Space exploration cost tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Space exploration costs astronomical amounts of money each year, and this statement has sparked a debate on whether it has merits or drawbacks. This essay discusses two primary advantages and two disadvantages of this phenomenon.

On one hand, individuals consider that the government should prioritize addressing issues on our planet, such as poverty, education, healthcare, sanitation, shelter, and safety, instead of wasting money on space exploration. Additionally, spending money on space exploration carries the risk of mission failure. If a mission does not succeed due to technical issues, human error, or unforeseen challenges, the significant financial investment is lost. For instance, due to the mission failures of NASA’s satellites in 2012, billions of dollars from the budget were wasted, which could have been spent on more significant endeavors.

On the other, space exploration has significant long term benefits, including technological development, enhancing human life quality on earth by realizing future disasters, and exploring a new planet for human life.Similarly there is a major threat for biodiversity due to global warming, overpopulation and resources shortages and government can eliminate such problems by exploring new space for human being. For example, cities like New York and Mumbai straggling with houses shortages, and leading to residents live on streets, which creates significant disturbances. Moreover, polar beers facing extinction every year due to the global warming, and melting the ice where they live.

To incapsulate, space discoveries has both advantages and demerits, and I would opine, despite of all negative impacts of space exploration, the government should consider all the possible dangers for individuals that might face in the future, and continues their efforts for discovering a new planet.