Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future.

There is an idea that in the future technology could have a great leap developed so that humans can travel into space as a sort of tourism. In my opinion, this is a negative phenomenon for two main reasons.

The first reason is the exorbitant costs. Rare materials and high cost are required to build these spacecraft, they can prove prohibitively expensive. For example, it was recently reported that a typical rocket can cost as much as 2 billion dollars. Despite the huge cost of rockets, they are unable to land successfully. Therefore, they are usually made to fall into deserts and oceans. More to the point, heavy materials used in them can harm the environment, so they should be buried after landing.

On the other hand, traveller’s safety is another problem of this idea. The spaceship is designed to use at one time so that his form of tourism can be lethal due to the growing presence of space debris, which can cause deathly accidents. This goes to explain that the growing number of these accidents poses a risk of fatal crashes mid-flight and that crew members’ and travellers’ lives are constantly in danger. Furthermore, exposure to radiation can cause various health issues such as a high risk of cancer and damage to DNA. Although the duration of suborbital space tourism will be relatively short, it can pose these health risks considering the future development of the industry.

In conclusion, I argue that the establishment of suborbital tourism will be disadvantageous as far as budgetary and safety reasons are concerned.