Sports competitions are becoming more commercialized and focused on winning at all costs. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Sports industry facing higher commercialization, which makes sportsmen focus on winning no matter what the consequences are. This may be because of the stakes of losing are too high, and to maintain their state of life, athletes are ready for everything. I believe that this is a negative development, as sportsmen, role-models for younger generation, can influence people end environment to degrade morally.

In the age, when commercial success means everything, companies increase the rewards, and sportsmen, striving to be well-known, are ready to take greater risks. Sports industry brings substantial amount of money; as a result, athletes accumulate more wealth, and failure means loss of everything. This is because only winners are admired by public and attract them. Moreover, mass media in the modern world spreads news quickly enough to destroy one’s carrier, so, fear pushes the performers take precautions, sometimes detrimental. For instance, many sportsmen in the world lost everything, as they were not able to satisfy the viewers. Other athletes led by fear repeating their fate do everything they can, even if it is bad for them. Eventually, these trends push them to take unethical actions, which can end up having bad consequences.

While this development may have positive effects like stronger commitment and better performance, I am convinced that disadvantages are weightier. Higher stakes create the conditions, where fear leads the people. Frightened by loss, sportsmen do morally unethical things, like harming the competitors and usage performance enhancing drugs. While the first affects society, the last may results in health issues. For instance, some MMA fighters are admired by youngsters. When they show disrespect to their opponents or consume drugs, others adopt this behavior. Consequently, it spreads of unethical behavior. The examples show that sportsmen as role-models for many individuals have to be careful about their actions.

Overall, commercialization can significantly influence sportsmen, desired to attain the great rewards and afraid of loosing everything, they sometimes go on negative endeavors. Despite having some positive effect, the trend can influence many people to behave unethically. The evil side overtakes the good part.