Sports play a significant role in promoting physical and mental well-being. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Undeniably, a healthy mind is in a healthy body. I believe that people should prioritize their mental and physical health and take better care of them. However, professional athletes, due to sports being their career, have different circumstances. It is possible that their physical endeavors may result in lifelong injuries. Moreover, the amount of negative stress could cause a decline in their mental health. Conversely, for ordinary people, I maintain that doing sports and going to the gym is necessary.

Professional sports players go through a significant amount of training. Even though it is common for them to get injuries throughout their careers, some injuries could end in tragedies. For instance, in a documentary I was watching the other day, a promising NBA player’s ankle broke during a match, leading to his early retirement from basketball; a promising talent lost all he had worked for in a single moment. Furthermore, athletes go through panic episodes and depression as a result of constant stress. Consequently, even though I believe sports play an undeniable role in both physical and mental well-being, I disagree that this applies to everyone.

Conversely, I think that for people who sit behind desks all day long, it is crucial to play sports and do daily workouts. Additionally, considering my own personal experience during the pandemic, not moving around and doing some activities, like running or playing a game of sports, leads to depression. For example, during that time, I felt unmotivated, unhappy, and depressed all the time, but when I started working out at home, I got much better.

Ultimately, caution must be taken when moving your body. Moreover, before and after workouts, people should do warm-ups and cool-downs, respectively, to make sure they avoid injuries. According to professionals, our bodies and our minds are connected, and their well-beings are correlated with each other.