STEP 1 - Read the task WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Education is one of the biggest issues and debates politicians and normal people discuss in their daily lifes. The importance of an educational style and paths are essential beacuse young generations are the ones who will have to face big problems our world is facing and will have to face: population crisis, climate change, supranational organizations, new technologies…

On the one hand, it is true that kids should not be exposed to a very agressive and competitive ecosystem because this could affect their own perception and their mental health. During my academic path I have seen many students struggle with anxiety because of an exam or a subject. They thought they were not smart enough to achieve the goals their parents, teachers or themselves were expecting. Teachers and parents should be aware of this, students in schools are really young, they are developing their own personalities, and an excesive competition could do more wrong than give benefits to our society.

However, the educational level should not be lowered down. Many nations around the world have shown through diverse statistics and papers that, for the first time in history, kids are starting to be less intelligent that their parents. Kids should be motivated and encouraged to explore, investigate and search for new solutions. Competitive ecosystems are the perfect place to show all the habilities you have or can develop. Nevertheless, students should be tought that school is not a competition or war between colleagues.

In my opinion, it is good that students develop in competitive environments for them to show the best version of themselves. This way we will have future generations full of creative and brilliant people who have become critical thinkers thanks to their education and training. The problem our educations system might be facing nowadays is the curriculum and way of teaching. Things sould change and adapt to the new technological era our world is facing. The public administration and the corporate leaders seek for professionals that are good at hard skills but also great at soft skills such us negotiation, communication, resilience, motivation… For all the exposed, I think the teaching model should change and adapt to our new world needs.