Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the factors in modern society that cause this stress, and how can we reduce it?

People from all around the globe have various issues in common, and stress is one of them. Spending time on technological devices is the main reason that causes stress in humans, and this issue can be tackled by acquiring hobbies and leisure activities.

Humans have become highly engaged with their smartphones and computers after the invention of the Internet, which allowed everyone to connect with each other. Although having a wide range of technology assists people with all kinds of information and data, it also leads to mental problems, as the radiation from the screens negatively affects the human brain. An average brain is capable of handling too much information; however, useless photos, videos, and facts that have no benefit get stuck in the subconscious and result in stress. For instance, individuals who scroll their screens for more than an hour on TikTok every day demonstrate more aggressive behaviors than others.

The most effective solution to this problem is for humans to engage in various kinds of hobbies in their leisure time. Outdoor activities, such as playing sports or gardening, can reduce the level of stress and anxiety, as fresh air has a positive effect on people. Another way to cope with stress is to immerse oneself in music, playing a musical instrument, or exploring and listening to new songs, which can enhance mental health. In addition, one of the most functional solutions is engaging in art and craft activities. Hobbies related to art are not only able to diminish stress in people, but they can also develop humans’ creativity. In fact, leaving electronic devices aside and engaging in such activities can reduce the risks of psychological problems. For example, patients in mental health hospitals are being encouraged to do some artwork for hours without looking at their phones, since art has a therapeutic effect on the brain.

In conclusion, the increasing degree of stress in individuals is becoming a major issue in society, and this problem can be solved by pursuing beneficial hobbies.