Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. How far do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, the Internet is used widely in education around the world. Some people say it is beneficial for teaching and learning because there is so much information available. However, others claim that the Internet is bad for students’ research skills and believe that its use should be restricted. I believe that use of the Internet should be limited in some ways, but it is still a valuable educational tool.

Firstly, the Internet is essential for many people today. It is widely used in the workplace and people’s everyday lives, both for finding information, for personal finance, for keeping in touch with friends and family, for social networking and so on. Therefore, school students should learn how to use it correctly. In addition, students also need it for research in school and university subjects. Nowadays the most up-to-date information can be found on the Internet, rather than in books which can become out of date very quickly. Using the Internet is a convenient way of finding out information and developing independent research skills.

However, the Internet has some negative aspects. For example, not all websites are reliable or contain accurate information. Students need to learn how to evaluate and check the material they find on the Internet. Also, many students simply copy large amounts of material, such as essays from the Internet. Some students then pretend that this material is their own work, which is illegal. If students simply copy information or material from the Internet without understanding or analyzing it, they will not learn it fully. Teachers need to teach students how to research and use information from the Internet properly.

In conclusion, schools and universities should teach students how to use the Internet by teaching them good research skills. If students know how to use the Internet effectively, they are likely to become better students and have better employment opportunities in the future.