Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that pupils should be responsible for their tuition fees when entering university on the grounds that their personal merits appear to outweigh the social merits. Personally, I partly disagree with the notion and this essay will discuss the reasons for my opinion.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that nowadays students can enjoy a plethora of advantages within the contemporary education systems. One of the most significant benefits is that the youth now have numerous opportunities for expanding their knowledge. It is true that with the support of advanced technology, students now can easily access a wider range of sources of information, which can help them develop different perspectives and opinions about their subjects and have a deep understanding about their major. Therefore, they can excel academically and gain more job opportunities in the future. As an illustration, these days, not only Google provides various sources of information but also Artificial Intelligence can supply students with facts or knowledge on different subjects with high accuracy, contributing to students’ access to different information and awareness of much more problems, even global ones.

Regarding those personal benefits, the influence of knowledge in young generations to society is undeniable and even important for our lives and surprisingly comes from those individuals’ benefits, therefore the aforementioned opinion of students paying their own educational costs can be unreasonable. It is obvious that when people are getting more and more well-educated, the society can be more and more polite, leading to higher intellectual standards within nations. In other words, people can be more aware of the impacts on the community that they could make through their actions, while also have developed understanding about recent problems around the world to prevent and tackle them. Moreover, the higher educational level students gain, the more academic achievement they can contribute to their nations and the whole world in general. When students have more access to different viewpoints, they can develop a multidimensional perspective which helps them create creative ideas, leading to the rapid development of countries in different areas and the achievements that can have positive effects on mankind. As a result, students’ tuition fees should be sponsored to encourage more and more students to become well-educated and have suitable knowledge to contribute to the community.

To sum up, some people argue that young people should pay full cost of their own study thanks to the advantages they gain. However, I reckon that the personal merits are a part of the huge social benefits that not only influence within cities or nation, but also on a global scale, so governments should continue to raise funding for students’ cost of study.