Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that students have easy online access to information, that is why there is no need for libraries any more. I totally disagree with this opinion.

It is true that the internet has created an opportunity to access any information without spending much effort. It is like a box of knowledge now, which is portable and anything can be found anywhere from it. Students, for example, can read electronic versions of printed books online. For this, they do not have to go to libraries and spend money on buying them, but need a phone as well as willingness to search for and download. Additionally, people do not need to bring electronic books, they can read e-books everywhere, such as on public transport or while waiting for someone, and do not take any space in bags.

However, the internet which students use to gain knowledge is distractful. While searching for something on it, people might encounter pop-up ads and messages from social media which distract them and steal their attention. Consequently, students can not focus on and lose their valuable time which is aimed to spend on studying. Moreover, their productivity level decreases. In contrast, libraries offer a distraction-free space to study deeply and concentrate better. Students can feel a sense of peace and direct their full attention to the things they want to learn. What is more, learners will be surrounded by people who have the same ambition, if they choose libraries.

In conclusion, although students can access information online without going the extra mile, they may face distractions which waste their time and affect their study or work efficiency. I strongly disagree with this opinion. Because libraries are still needed, as they provide a quiet, focused learning environment, which the internet cannot offer.