Studying art in school improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, schools try to educate their students in multiple subjects to improve their skills. While some people consider that art is obligatory to improve student’s performance, others think the opposite. This essay Agrees that learning ant is important in primary and middle school, however it is considered that high school students need to have a choice regarding having set lessons.

To start with, it is known that from an early age it is essential for children to develop different basic skills, like creativity and self-confidence. According to the art historian, Amy Herman, art helps in the development of such skills, and some other ones, like imagination, self-discipline and self-expression. Development of the mentioned features is essential to succeeding in future studies, which was proved by British research, which has shown that schools that implement arts in their curriculum demonstrate improved student performance in math, English and verbal skills. Therefore, it can be easily concluded that art lessons are important and should be implemented as obligatory.

On the flip hand, in secondary school it is more important to focus on improvement of the future profession. For instance, in countries where few last school years focused on 5-6 subjects essential for future specialization, graduates show better performance in universities and are more likely to find a job. It can be seen that making art classes mandatory in high school could be very distracting and ineffective for some students. Consequently, it is not a good idea to have arts obligatory in high school.

To infer, although art classes are important in primary and middle school, they are not useful in secondary education. Taking into account the discussed arguments, it is advised to give older students more choice about their educational process.