Task 2: Historical objects should be brought back to their country of origin. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The repatriation of historical objects has been a contentious issue for many years, with some arguing that these artifacts should be brought back to the original countries, as supposed to others, who believe that they should remain in their current location. Despite some merits of reinstating original ownership of relics, I am largely against this idea.

The fact that returning artifacts to the country of origin is beneficial to some extent. Initially, it can help to restore a sense of national identity, as the objects are seen as a symbol of the country’s history and culture. This is certanly the case with nations whose history is rich, such as Egupt or Greece, but whose artifacts arre in exhibition thousands of miles away. Repatriation, furthermore, may ensure that the objects are well-preserved, as they may be better cared for in their home country than in their current location. When the people who preside over ancient relics feel connected to the objects’ origin, they would undoubtedly be commited to their protective responsbilities. It could, therefore, be argued that all artifacts deserve repartriation.

However, this idea is not always positive or practical. Firstly, the effort can be expensive, as the relics would need to be shipped to their country of origin to be stored. Statues, for example, are noticeably challenging to handle, as their sizes may not fit cargo planes, while their structural integrity may be compromised while travelling on the sea due to the environment. In addition, there may be competing claims from different countries over certain artifacts, resulting in difficulty in determining the rightful owner. A diplomatic row might end up sparking between various nations because of such a small issue, straining international relations. Taking these points into consideration, I would argue that the downsides of repartriation overshadow the gains.

In conclusion, while the idea of repartriation warrants some merits, I generally disagree with returning every single historical artifacts to its home country. Restoring original ownership, ultimately, should be based on a careful assessment of the costs and benefits, as well as the. legal and ethical issues involved