Task 2: Human society has made great technological progress in the last hundred years. Some people think this also has negative effects on our life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has progressed enormously over the last decade. Nowadays, many individuals argue that technological development has negatively affected our lives in various ways. Personally, I believe that there are significant benefits to the provided statement in our societies, despite a few drawbacks. In this paper, I will elaborate on my answer and advocate my opinion.

On the one hand, human beings have been significantly affected by technology. Technology has made human life easier and more convenient. For example, the existence of the internet not only connects the opposite parts of the world but also makes all information available to anyone worldwide. Additionally, many aspects of individuals’ lives have become totally dependent on technology. For example, transportation and communication, such as cars and phones, have changed the world and become an essential part of human beings’ lives.

On the other hand, technology has engendered some negative effects. Although the internet is now an integral part of our lives, it has many deleterious impacts on our societies. New generations tend to be more socially isolated and even prefer video gaming to physical play. Moreover, luxurious amenities perpetuate a sedentary lifestyle, which in turn fosters more health problems like obesity and cardiac diseases. For example, research conducted at Harvard University in 2010 showed that diseases which are associated with low physical activity have increased by 75% over the last decades.

To conclude, technology has impressive impacts on human beings, yet it poses multi-faceted challenges that necessitate immediate global attention. Communities have to take steps to minimize those negative effects and make sure to ease the path for coming generations to prevent any more technological damage.