Task 2: Human society has made great technological progress in the last hundred years. Some people think this also has negative effects on our life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past 100 years, humanity has made remarkable progress in technology. It is believed by some that it has a completely negative impact on our lives. I think that the development of innovative technology can play a crucial role if it is used correctly.

Some people support the idea that the rapid growth of technology can be a drawback, as it often causes distraction in our lives. The particular reason for this is the internet, which provides unlimited sources of information that can easily distract people of all ages including students, adults, children and also old-aged people. For example, when I was preparing for my final exam, an app called Instagram caused me to lose concentration, and it was very hard to focus on my studies. As a result, eliminating these online distractions helped me achieve my desired score which clearly shows that person needs to stay focused in order to success.

However, it can be argued that if a person uses the internet correctly, one can create new opportunity to succeed especially in education. This is because the internet offers limitless educational resources that help study more effectively. There are many apps like YouTube, Duolingo or Google. For example, I was inspired by the achievements of my cousin who learnt English from YouTube, without not wasting money on educational centres like I did. As a result, compared to those who kill time on the internet by watching short videos, students like my cousin achieve high results and graduate to top-rated universities with the help of the internet.

In conclusion, some people believe that the development of innovative technology has a negative effect on our lives. However, I think that people must use the internet for studying more effectively, while avoiding apps like Instagram or Tikrok, as these platforms can cause temporaary depamine.