Task 2: In many countries, the amount of household waste like food packaging is increasing. What are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to reduce it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this state-of-the-art society, the remarkable escalation in the amount of domestic waste being dumped, including food packaging, has become an urgent issue. This essay will elaborate on the causes behind this phenomenon and propose effective measures to minimize the growing volume of waste.

From my perspective, the primary cause of this occurrence is the inevitably increasing popularity of single-use packaging. It is undeniable that the contemporary individuals are living with a fast pace of life, in which ready-to-eat meals are extremely prevalent for its time-saving. A prime example of this would be the pre-packaged noodles, which plays an indisputably significant role in many modern laborers due to its convenience and reasonable price. As a result, the amount of disposable materials being released from the pre-packaged food industry has exerted a serious effect on the environment and earth’s ecology.

As a consequence, both individuals and governments should take responsibility for this pressing problem. In terms of the individuals, they should bear in mind the disadvantages of using too much disposable materials, such as plastic, in daily life. Besides, biodegradable packaging alternatives should also be prioritized at the forefront when shopping. Additionally, worthwhile campaigns can be organized by governments in order to raise the masses’ awareness. Not only campaigns but also strict regulations should be implemented with some environment-threatening activities being considered illegitimate. For instance, taxes in producing plastic packaging should be imposed on account of the rising number of plastic goods on the ocean.

Weighing up the aforementioned arguments, I totally believe that a large amount of disposable packaging being discharged everyday mainly causes the growth of household waste in this era. It is about time for both dwellers and governments to mitigate this phenomenon effectively.