Task 2: In many countries, the amount of household waste like food packaging is increasing. What are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to reduce it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many countries, the number of household waste like food packaging, which is thrown away directly into the environment, is rising. While there are several reasons for this phenomenon, some solutions can be taken to improve the situation.

One cause of this problem is the change in cooking habits. In modern society, because of the occupied lifestyle, many individuals often consume convenient products and ready-to-use items instead of cooking at home. In many metropolises, many young people often order food through e-commercial platforms such as Shoppe Food, and Grab,… to save their time. Therefore, this can increase the number of plastic bags containing food. To mitigate this problem, local authorities should hold local cooking classes to help participators cook quick and healthy meals. For example, in Ha Noi, some cooking workshops are held to guide convenient recipes, encouraging cooking more often.

Another reason is the overuse of single-use products. In modern societies, many food stores choose to use plastic items such as plastic plates, and cups to reduce the price of products. For example, in Hai Phong, more than 80% of takeaway food was packaged in plastic containers. An effective method that should be implemented to tackle this issue is that store owners should replace plastic items in a friendly environment. For example, many food chains, such as Starbucks or Phuc Long…, use paper cups and bags to contain drinks or deliver their products, to decrease household waste.

In conclusion, the change in cooking habits and the overuse of single-use products are two culprits behind the problem. I believe that if the solutions mentioned were implemented effectively, the problem would be alleviated.