Task 2: In many countries, the amount of household waste like food packaging is increasing. What are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to reduce it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many nations witness a significant growth in the amount of domestic waste like food packaging. The following essay will outline the reasons behind this phenomenon and suggest some efficient solutions to help these countries address this issue.

There are several compelling cautions leading to the trend of increasing the figure for household waste in some countries. The key point is manufacturers nowadays are too overused with plastic packaging such as bottles or nylon bags . The reason for this is because using plastic to pack the items is cheaper and convenient than using paper bags. Additionally, manufacturers can easily decorate the plastic bags with various colors or labels, making them become more attractive with consumers. For example, in Vietnam, in 2023, the amount of plastic packaging used in each family is between 5 to 7 packs every day, leading to thousands of tons of plastic bags thrown away every year. As a result, overusing plastic bags and throwing away into environment uncontrollably leads to various serious positive impacts on our environment such as soil or water pollution, even greenhouse effect.

To address this problem, one of the most efficient solutions is that the government should implement various campaigns to raise residents’ awareness of recycling plastic packages and using eco-friendly materials such as paper. The reason for this is because when holding more talk shows or events to talk to individuals about the positive impacts of using plastic bags on our environment, leading people to understand how to use these suitably. For instance, various famous cosmetic brands around the world collect their cosmetic packaging from consumers to recycle them into other items. As a result, this campaign is responded worldwidely and contributes to decreasing the amount of plastic packaging. Consequently, this solution enables people to take more responsibility to protect our planet to be cleaner.

In conclusion, overusing plastic bags makes the amount of them increase significantly in various nations around the world. And the solution supposed to tackle this problem is raising awareness of consumers in protecting our environment.