Task 2: In many parts of the world, famous people are regarded as role models and they have an increasing influence on the young. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are spending most of their time on social media, watching celebrities’ extravagant lifestyles. While it is true that some individuals may find really successful and brilliant individuals as role models, the majority of people gravitate towards famous individuals who promote an unrealistic lifestyle.

Proponents of modern role models cite various reasons to support their stance. It cannot be denied that there are many people who have great knowledge and experience; they are encouraging youngsters to be better people by sharing personal examples. This motivates the young generation to strive for excellence and push their limits, thereby improving personal qualities. Take Jordan Peterson as an example, for instance, he is well-known among young adults. He could foster resilience in them by giving lectures about reality. He also talks about his own book and shares his own ideas. All of them result in great changes in many people’s lives. In America, he is considered one of the best thinkers of our century

However, the detrimental effect of so-called role models outweighs their benefits. There is no denying that a significantly larger group of people is following the negative famous individuals. Unfortunately, these celebrities gain popularity because of their appearance and wealth, which can lead to unrealistic standards about life. Furthermore, those people post their luxurious daily life, like traveling abroad or parties with friends, which results in dissatisfaction and frustration among children comparing their own lives and careers. 2024 research showed that 60% adolescent report constant depression and anxiety as a result of high personal goals, which is caused by famous actors and bloggers.

In conclusion, even though role models might set a good example for young people, those individuals who create content from a fraction of their everyday life to show off may lead to mental issues