Task 2: In many parts of the world, famous people are regarded as role models and they have an increasing influence on the young. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is becoming more common that celebrities in several parts of the globe are respected as ‘role models’ and their influence on the young is also rising. In my perspective, despite the drawback of some well-known people setting a bad image, the overall benefits of this phenomenon are far more superior.

On the one hand, children’s behaviour might be negatively affected when they come into contact with inappropriate content from certain celebrities. This is because many young fans are often mistaken that they need to imitate their idols’ actions to be successful like them. Many notorious rappers or singers often illustrate extravagant lifestyles, vulgar language, and in some cases, prompting the use of illegal substances to parade wealth. As a result, this false judgement of success usually leads to fans mimicking such activities and they often express themselves in manners that society considers as unfit. However, with proper guidance from parents or guardians, children can avoid this detrimental drawback.

Conversely, I firmly believe that the influence of famous individuals on young children can pose great benefits in terms of characteristic development. Well-known celebrities (whose attributes are positive and optimistic) often express the values that they consider morally suitable for their works and some of these pieces of art can inspire children to act and live more accordingly. For example, many songs written about patriotism or egalitarianism invoke affection and understanding among people of all ages and classes. As a result, children who are exposed to these types of content often develop positive personalities such as a sense of equality or compassion.

In conclusion, the rising propensity of celebrities’ influence on young generations is now inevitable. Some influencers may set a bad image for young children to mirror, and it is the responsibility of adults to supervise the content to avoid children developing negative behaviours. Nevertheless, I still hold the belief that many of these celebrities can offer personality growth through the merits of their works.