Task 2: In recent years, technological advancements have significantly changed the way people live and work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a growing trend toward how technological advancements have changed the way people live and work. Although the trend is not without disadvantages, the upside can justify these.

On the one hand, there are a number of disadvantages that cannot be avoided once technology develops. First, since the technology developed, plenty of security vulnerabilities in websites have been found that are susceptible to unpredictable consequences. For example, data breaches occur when unauthorized individuals gain access to confidential data stored in computer systems or networks, this can result in significant damage, both financially and emotionally, for the victims. Secondly, technological devices such as video games, TVs, and smartphones can compromise children’s lives. For instance, computer games, which allow kids to spend most time indoors in front of a screen increase the risk of weight gain.

On the other hand, there are a number of benefits that can be obtained from technological developments. First, technology has become a tool to make money if people’s income is just enough for them to make a living. Transportation services namely ride-hailing and delivery services, design logos and decorative stickers, or investment applications enable people to earn more money, the former can contribute to having a greater life. Second, the advance of technology is conducive to children by offering a variety of educational opportunities. In fact, technology makes it possible for children to be prepared for math, reading, and other core subjects when they are old enough to be going to school on their own, it allows children to become confident and able to develop themselves when they have taken action before going to school.

In conclusion, technological advancements indeed come with a fair share of downsides, yet the net advantages still outweigh them. Therefore, people should assess their abilities to make the most effective decision when the technology evolves.