Task 2: In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Despite the innovations made in agriculture, there are still many people starving around the world. This is one of the issues that the government need to take serious action on with the support of the public. There are so many reasons why many people go hungry despite the advances made in farming and food production. We will dig into the main causes behind the problem and find out possible solutions in this essay.

To embark on, in these days, people need to produce more food to be able to cope with the increasing population. In some countries, although new advances are made in agriculture, they still cannot feed all the people and due to high demand, the prices are raised. So, only some of the population afford to buy this food. For example, in India, one of the countries where the ratio of the poor and the rich is not fair. According to research data collected in 2020,189.2 million people are undernourished in that country. The main point is poverty and that is why they lack the resource to cover their basic needs such as food, water and shelter. Moreover, gender inequality is another effect of starvation since women cannot get higher education and as a result, they are unable to get high salaries and the only breadwinner in the family becomes men.

To tackle this, the government needs to make effective strategies together with the public such as creating job opportunities and providing education in places suffering from hunger strikes. For instance, a program called Federal Domestic Nutrition was launched in the United States to keep millions of Americans from going hungry. In addition, foreign investments can also bring workplaces that ensure basic income for the local people. In this way, we can solve the hunger problem around the world.

In conclusion, going hungry is not a problem we cannot solve but need to take time and put in a lot of effort. Not only the government but also people are responsible to make it into a better, zero-hunger world.