• Task 2: In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, books were an effective way to store knowledge while people nowadays prefer to preserve knowledge on the Internet. Although this phenomenon has some negative effects, I believe it is still a positive development overall.

On the one hand, there are some shortcomings in storing knowledge on the Internet. Firstly, delivering inaccurate information is one of the major problems of this trend. The internet allows users to easily update and share a wide range of information and knowledge, but there is a lack of verification. This led to the spreading of misinformation or fake news, some individuals can struggle to distinguish between reliable and unreliable understanding. As a result, when people preserve knowledge on the Internet can have more risk of accessing inaccurate information.

On the other hand, I believe the merit of this phenomenon is more significant. Storing knowledge online can be more economical than traditional books as we need an amount of money and resources just for paper printing and book production. We can preserve and access various understandings and insights just with the digital form. For example, Wikipedia is a website that contains numerous theories and information about history, art, music, and chemistry,… It can archive a large number of documents without wasting wood resources or any overcome cost. Furthermore, the internet offers a more immediate and efficient way to store and retrieve information. We can be readily accessible on any connected device and can be accessed anytime, anywhere. This convenience significantly saves time and effort.

In conclusion, even thought there are issues with the difficulty of verifying the accuracy of information found online, I still support the way people nowadays accumulate information on the Internet.