• Task 2: In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning information from paper-based books was popular for millennia, however, these days technological advances have overtaken this popularity. While there are some certain benefits, they are outweighed by the drawbacks.

One benefit of storing information on the internet is its convenience. When people need to analyse or compare any data or just want to read any book, they can easily find it on their mobile phones or other devices on-the-spot. It may not be always possible to do these with books. The development of technology gives humanity instant universal access to the world’s libraries is the positive side of the Internet gaining more popularity. People can acquire many books and research papers online by typing their titles on various search sites such as Google, and Safari and be able to download them on their devices. However, not in every physical library, individuals can find what they need.

Despite these upsides, the downsides of acquiring knowledge in written works are much greater. One major disadvantage is connected to health problems. Searching for information on the internet by using different technological advances may affect people’s eyesight, as well as individuals may experience mental disbalance or mood disorders. A further significant concern is the reliability of the facts and figures. While people store information, they usually come up with hundreds of websites containing

the similar titles with different contexts, and it makes the research on the topic much harder than ever.

In conclusion, the acquisition of knowledge on the internet can offer convenience and universal access to libraries, however, these are not as significant as the downsides, which include disordering the health condition and misleading contexts of information.