Task 2: Many people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences in earning between the richest and the poorest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people identify the advantages of bridging the differences between the rich and the poor and claim that this act is an optimal way to create a happier society. Although this school of thought holds merits such as better access to services for the whole community, my personal opinion expresses a stronger alignment for the opposite view as happiness depends on many more aspects.

On the one hand, a small income gap is of great importance to a happy society because it allows all citizens to get access to essential services. When the services such as education and healthcare are accessible to everyone, people could have more chances to improve their physical health and intellectual standard. It could be the key to make people feel optimistic about their future, which could make a significant contribution to social happiness.

On the other hand, despite such benefits, I would argue that smaller income disparities are not the best measure for a happy community. It is because happiness not only depends on money. There would be several factors affecting people’s positive feelings including relationships and hobbies, which is why bridging the gap between wealthy and underprivileged residents is not a feasible way to bring happiness to a society.

In conclusion, while a small income gap can produce better access to necessary services that create positive emotions, it seems to me that it is not an optimal measure as there would be other aspects that impact well-being.