Task 2: Many people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences in earning between the richest and the poorest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Opinions differ on whether minimizing the pay disparity between those earning the most and the least is the most effective way to make our society happier. I disagree with this proposal, as it is fundamentally unfair and there are better ways to achieve the goal of raising levels of happiness.

Supporters of the given viewpoint argue that the disproportionate difference in the earning of socioeconomic groups is the root cause of dissatisfaction. This is because wealthy individuals are able to afford a comfortable life, enjoying all types of services and taking advantage of opportunities, whereas those who are financially disadvantaged are deprived of such benefits. Thus, it is suggested that if the earning gap between these groups were narrowed down, the poor would have more access to the advantages currently reserved for the rich, making them feel happier as a result. However, this situation would likely make those in higher earning groups dissatisfied, as their hard work and intelligence would be rewarded inadequately.

Rather than focusing on pay disparities, perhaps more effective solutions would be to give disadvantaged people fair opportunities and encourage those with more money to give back to their community. With regard to the former, the poorest members of our society should be given access to essential public services, such as medical support, clean food, as well as education and employment opportunities. This would allow them to work for a better life, which by itself is a meaningful journey that leads to genuine happiness. As for individuals who are already wealthy, they should be encouraged to find ways to uplift people living below the poverty line by doing charity or granting scholarships. Many billionaires have stated that such philanthropic efforts nurture a great sense of gratitude and appreciation, filling their lives with meaning in ways that materialistic possessions are unable to.

In conclusion, I believe the best way to make our society happier is to improve social equity rather than minimizing the pay gap. The disadvantaged should be given more opportunities to strive for a better life, while those who are already successful should be encouraged to give back to the community and uplift others .