Task 2: Many people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences in earning between the richest and the poorest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One school of thought believes that reducing the income disparity between the rich and the poor is a key approach to create a contented society. From my perspective, I disagree with that view due to its potential impacts on human rights and a nation’s development

To begin with, this method can result in unfairness among people. In this day and age, each job such as scientists, teachers, and workers requires different professionalism and skills. People who do not have enough ability cannot apply for intensive occupations with ideal payment; thus, individuals deserve reasonable compensation based on their efforts and abilities. For instance, in an enterprise, leaders always suffer from extreme stress and have much more responsibilities while regular employees just need to follow an available plan; therefore, the income gap is vital to maintain fairness among people.

In addition, this solution also has a negative effect on social prosperity and a nation’s growth. When everyone receives the same salary regardless of their exertions, feeling dissatisfied easily makes them lack motivation to keep going and creating achievements. As a result, it hinders social development, seriously, leading to economic stagnation due to a decline in working productivity and workers’ fervor. It is clear that if compensation is balanced, employers will mostly choose the basic and easy job to work instead of shouldering difficult tasks. Therefore, reducing the salary gap is widely regarded as an ineffective strategy as a whole to foster a contented life.

In conclusion, while equalizing income has its own positive points, I claim that this approach will lead to many more detrimental impacts on both individuals and society.