TASK 2: Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and etc.) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people upload their personal data, such as telephone numbers and addresses, on public platforms or on their bank accounts. From my perspective, this is a development for the worse for several key reasons.

The primary reason as to why I hold the stance that this change has many deleterious consequences is a growing number of cybercrimes, especially in our technological century. In fact, almost all hackers try to gain access to other people’s accounts by using personal data such as telephone numbers or bank account details. As a result, making such identities public can lead to serious issues, as people may lose their funds and valuable information on their devices with little chance of recovering them.

Another crucial reason is the loss of control over private data. When people already give access to their personal information by uploading it, many people may take advantage of this by using it in advertising fields, providing people with false information. For instance, in Uzbekistan, a young hacker gained all necessary information of citizens and wrote only positive comments on his own brand in order to improve his business. As a result, many people fell for his trick and spent their money on useless items.

In conclusion, sharing personal data is very dangerous, which can cause many detrimental problems, such as losing funds and control over private information. This data might be used in inappropriate ways, bringing harm to citizens.