TASK 2: Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and etc.) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, online banking and shopping have increased all over the world. This online way of communication with the outside world requires a lot of personal data to customise the experience for the user. In my opinion, this practice is a negative development as it can lead to serious crimes, such as personal identification theft and risk of privacy breach, along with social isolation.

The use of online websites to perform daily tasks is significantly increased. These sites demand proper user information, including contact numbers, card details, and addresses, which are not protected by any security checks; thus, this private information can be easily accessed by anyone. Consequently, crimes related to online scams, fraud, and theft have increased due to this easy accessibility. For example, last night, my mom recieved a call from a local number, who had all the information about her bank account, address and details of family members, and he demanded a large sum of money by threatening her to injure my brother.

Another major reason is social isolation. Many individuals rely on online media for all of their basic needs, such as communication, shopping, banking, and prefer to remain inside the house. Customising the experience by putting all the private details into these applications makes it worse. People are more disconnected from each other and prefer to live alone, which can lead to many psychological health issues. To illustrate, a university survey revealed that a greater ratio of mental health issues is noted in those people who are doing their daily shopping online in comparison to those who visit markets regularly.

In conclusion, putting all of the personal identification details on non-trusted online websites can be misused, and it can increase the ratio of cybercrime. Additionally, the risk of social disconnection and psychological health issues negatively influences this trend.