Task 2: People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is argued that the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles should be raised to hinder environmental problems. From my perspective, I disapprove of this view as it may pose a challenge in the financial condition of the low-income groups in society and create barriers to the development of the economy.

Many people believe that increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other transportations can have a positive wave as it can reduce the number of people who use their private transportations, instead they will use public transportations or electric vehicles, which can cut down on emissions and restore the ozone layer, contribute to the effort to alleviate environmental problems.

Nevertheless, I believe that raising the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to tackle environmental pollution will backfire, as it places a heavy financial burden on low-income groups in society. In particular, inhabitants have to spend more money to afford fuel for cars, which disrupts household budgets. Vietnam is a prime example of this approach, where the government has faced a strong protest from city dwellers as a result of increasing the cost of fuels for their private transportations and other vehicles. Moreover, this can slow down the development of the economy due to the decline in commercial activities between consumers and businesses. As a result, the market demand will be lessened and pose an obstacle to the sustainable development of the country.

In conclusion, I consider that raising the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles is not an effective way to apply, because it can burden the basic living expenses of individuals and hinder the development of the economy.